• DFI Europe
  • DFI Trust

Young Professor Paper Competition

Since 1985, DFI and the DFI Educational Trust have held an annual Young Professor Paper Competition as a means to help bridge the gap between practice and study. The criteria for entering this competition are as follows:

  • Paper must be primarily concerned with the design and construction of deep foundations/excavations.
  • The candidate professor should be a full time entry-level member of the faculty of an accredited college or university, engaged in teaching and/or research in any of the professional fields including engineering/construction/geological sciences.
  • Paper must be based on the professor’s own work, and may include contributions from the professor’s research student(s) as secondary author(s).

All professors with abstracts submitted will be included in the paper competition, unless the subject matter is deemed inappropriate. Papers will be judged based on their submitted drafts. Comments will be offered to the winning paper author for preparation of the final version.

The primary author of the winning paper will be invited to attend the DFI Annual Conference on Deep Foundations to present her/his paper. Conference registration, two nights of lodging and a $1,000 stipend for travel expenses will be provided to the winner. Both the winner and First Runner-up will have their papers published in the conference proceedings and receive a library of up to 20 DFI Publications and a gratis two year Individual Membership in DFI.

Young Professor Paper Competition Award Recipients

Alejandro Martinez, Ph.D., And Kyle O’Hara, Ph.D.University of California, Davis
Alessandro F. Rotta Loria, Ph.D., P.E.Swiss Federal Institute of Technology and Northwestern University
Arash Khosravifar, Ph.D., P.E.Portland State University (PSU)
Aaron S. BradshawUniversity of Rhode Island
Joseph Thomas Coe, Jr.Temple University
Armin StuedleinOregon State University (OSU)
John Mccartney and Kyle MurphyUniversity of Colorado Boulder
Anne Lemnitzer and Leonardo MassoneUniversity of California Irvine and University of Chile
Anne LemnitzerCalifornia State University Fullerton
Debra LaeferUniversity College Dublin
Lance A. RobertsSouth Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Thomas J. WeaverUniversity of Idaho
Monica PrezziPurdue University